Spirited Away: Book One by Hayao Miyazaki

24 02 2016

Reading from right to left, top to bottom, Hayao Miyazaki has pieced together a wonderful book that made my heart fill with joy (and fright!) This amazing book gives you much to think about during and after you read. Its main character (Chihiro Ogino) is a ten year old who is traveling to a new town to start a new life. She discovers many secrets about this new place, and her parents, well that’s another story. This book is full of the first adventures and challenges Chihiro faces. Maya Smith, 5th Grader


Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

24 02 2016

Crenshaw is a book about a boy going into 5th grade. When he was little he had a imaginary friend whose name was Crenshaw and he was a white cat with black patches. The boy and his family have been going through tough times, they can’t pay for much stuff, his mom is working a lot of shifts. He is getting worried and he just wants his parents to tell him the truth. Then Crenshaw comes. At first he is mad and he tries to get rid of him, but over time he learns that it’s nice to have a friend that will always be there for you (even if he breaks into your house in the middle of the night). –Maya Smith, 5th Grade



Horse Lover? Read “The Canterwood Crest Series!”

4 01 2016

Sasha Silver is goScreen shot 2016-01-04 at 1.20.55 PMing away to boarding school, Canterwood Crest. She is a rider and she and her horse, Charm, are determined to show what they are made of and prove to everyone that she belongs at Canterwood. Making an enemy on the first day is not a good way to make a good impression. With boy trouble, sabotaging, and making friends along the way, join Sasha in her adventure at Canterwood Crest. I really enjoyed it, and I’m currently on the third book, and can’t get enough of these books.  There are nine in the series. If you are a horse lover, I guarantee you’ll really enjoy it. —Reviewed by Kaila Neipris-Gross



Gruesome! Romantic! Frightful! Read “The School for Good and Evil”

4 01 2016


imgres-5This is a three book series by Soman Chainani about two girls named Agatha and Sophie who are best friends. In these books you join Sophie and Agatha on a scary, funny and mysterious journey from home to giant and powerful castles in a blink of your eye. Starting out in their peaceful homes in the town of Gavaldon, they are surrounded by endless woods where not even the toughest of the townsmen could come back alive. Every year, two children at the age of eleven or twelve are taken to the schools by the mysterious schoolmaster. This amazing book goes through their journeys of gruesome, romantic and frightful experiences at the schools for good and evil.

Book 1: The School For Good And Evil

Book 2: The School Good And Evil A World Without Princes

Book 3: The School For And Evil The Last Ever After

–Reviewed by Maya Smith


A Cat Must Make a Tough Choice in “The Warriors: Into the Wild by Erin Hunter

4 01 2016


imgres-3This is the first book of a long series written by Erin Hunter. It is from the perspective of a cat named Rusty. He is a pet cat that has lived his whole life as a pet. One day he goes into the woods that all the other cats say are dangerous and no cat has ever come out of. While exploring, a gray cat named Graypaw tackles him for trespassing on his territory. Rusty soon finds out that Graypaw is from a clan. There are four clans in the woods: the shadow clan, the river clan, the wind clan, and the thunder clan. Graypaw is from the thunder clan. The clans are groups of wild cats that hunt mice, voles, birds, and more. They live with no owners or any people to take care of them. The thunder clan is so in need of more cats to join because they need to feed so many cats that the clan leader named Bluestar offers for Rusty to join the clan. Does Rusty join? Or does he decide to keep the life of a pet? — Reviewed by Frances Cannant

2015 in review

4 01 2016

We’re so proud that our blog continues to get hits, despite the fact that we haven’t been posting as much as we’d like. So 2016, here we come, with more reviews, more posts, and more reading fun!

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,800 times in 2015. If it were a cable car, it would take about 47 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

You Will Love this Book: A Page Turners Review of “Scorpions” by Walter Dean Myers

11 06 2015

ZScorpions was written by Walter Dean Myers. It is about a boy who is asked to be the leader of a gang called the Scorpions, but doesn’t know if he will accept or not. You will love this book.

From Scholastic.com: Walter Dean Myers is the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of more than eighty books for children and young adults, including Sunrise Over Fallujah, Fallen Angels, Monster, Somewhere in the Darkness, Slam!, Jazz, and Harlem. Mr. Myers has received two Newbery Honors, five Coretta Scott King Awards, and the inaugural recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. In addition, he was the winner of the first Michael L. Printz Award and the 1994 recipient of the American Library Association’s Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring an author for a “significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.” He is considered one of the preeminent writers for children.


books and bytes for brooklynites

Jacqueline Woodson

books and bytes for brooklynites

books and bytes for brooklynites


books and bytes for brooklynites

Jane Kelley

books and bytes for brooklynites

bklyn kids books

books and bytes for brooklynites

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.